Class of 2022 Transitions from Classroom to Clinical Care

Second-year medical students marked the start of their patient-centered training with the Jan. 3 Steven Z. Miller Student Clinician’s Ceremony, the traditional rite that helps students shift from classroom education to seeing patients in hospital and ambulatory settings. 

Joseph Cornett’22 received the Greg Grove Award, which is given to a student who is generative and well-liked, has contributed to his peers and his school community, and enjoys the outdoors, reading, and music. Mr. Cornett is a representative on the Dean’s Advisory Committee and a leader of the Musicians’ Guild and Bard Hall Players.

Other members of the class received Karl H. Perzin Excellence in Pathology Awards: Michael Calavano, Lucy Colville, Haley Davis, Patricia Ho, Todd Jones, Margaret Kelly-Gross, Andrea Lifrieri, Amber Parker, Ariel Pourmorady, Maggie Schaedick, and Yu Wang.


Teachers who were honored:

• Stephen Canfield, MD, PhD, associate professor of medicine, received the Fundamentals Outstanding Teacher Award, which recognizes classroom teaching.

• Olajide Williams, MD, associate professor of neurology, received the Major Clinical Year Outstanding Teacher Award from the Class of 2021.

• Teaching awards were presented by the Class of 2021 to these NewYork-Presbyterian residents: Emily Avis, MD, pediatrics; Richard Greendyk, MD, medicine; Benjamin Kuritzkes, MD, surgery; Rebecca Leeds, MD, primary care; Ruth McCann, MD, psychiatry; and Sierra Seaman, MD, obstetrics & gynecology.

The ceremony is named for the late Steven Z. Miller’84, who founded the first transition ceremony at VP&S. A national leader in humanism in medicine, Dr. Miller died in a plane crash in 2004.

“I remember the energy and enthusiasm Steve Miller brought with him every day,” said Steven A. Lee-Kong, MD, assistant professor of surgery, who delivered remarks to students from the clinical faculty. “It’s important to go through every rotation of major clinical year with this same outlook.”