Fall 2020 e-News About and For Alumni

October 26, 2020


Students presented global and population health research projects at a virtual symposium on Sept. 17. Read about the event.


View a video of a panel discussion held in observance of National Physician Suicide Awareness Day. 

The Department of Pediatrics has started a palliative care program. Read more.

The pandemic changed many resources available to the community, but the medical center found ways to respond to community needs. Read more.

Materials used in a two-day COVID-19 course organized by the Mailman School of Public Health are now available free online. Register here for access to the course, “COVID-19 From Virus to Vaccine.”

The fourth annual Velocity fundraiser was virtual. Instead of riding bikes to raise money for cancer care and research, participants pursued individual activities and raised $1.08 million to support the Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center and the medical center’s front-line workers. Participants and other supporters will continue raising funds through the end of 2020. Read more.

Read profiles of a group of faculty members with Hispanic heritage in recognition of Hispanic Heritage Month.

Five CUIMC faculty—three from VP&S, one from Mailman, and one from Nursing—were elected to the National Academy of Medicine. Read more.

The Columbia Provost’s Office has provided seed funding for projects that engage with issues of structural racism. Of the 57 projects funded, 31 have 70 CUIMC faculty as team members. Read more.


Read a newspaper article about the legacy of Virginia Apgar’33. Dr. Apgar also was inducted into the New Jersey Hall of Fame in the public service category. The virtual ceremony highlights her at 26:26 in the recording.

Smithsonian Magazine wrote an article about Stewart Alexander’37, a medical officer attached to the staff of Gen. Dwight D. Eisenhower during World War II. Read more.

Read about a new book about Alan Berman’71, “Co-conspirator for Justice: The Revolutionary Life of Dr. Alan Berkman.”

Archivist Stephen Novak wrote about several instances in the late 19th century when VP&S refused to admit students of color. Read more.



Karin M. Muraszko’81 has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine, formerly known as the Institute of Medicine. Read more.

Aaron Glatt’83 received the 2020 Laureate Award from the New York chapter of the American College of Physicians. Read more.

Skyhawk Therapeutics announced that Elliot Ehrich’86 has joined the company as chief medical officer. Read more.

Henry Weil’86 has added chief academic officer to his titles at Bassett Healthcare. Read more.

James M. Spencer’88 has been recognized by Continental Who’s Who as a leading dermatologist. Read more.

Shannon Phillips’90 has been named Intermountain Healthcare’s chief medical officer for community-based care and president of the Intermountain Medical Group that includes more than 2,500 employed physicians and advanced practice providers. Read more.

Read about the work of Sharon Weissman’91, chief of infectious diseases at Prisma Health in Columbia, South Carolina.

Tim Horton’95 has joined PeaceHealth’s pediatrics group in Ketchikan, Alaska. Read more.

Catherine Takacs Witkop’97 was one of the keynote speakers at Northwest Connecticut’s Chamber of Commerce 16th annual WOW! Forum, a professional women’s conference. Read more.

Obsidian Therapeutics appointed Robert Ross’99 to its board. Dr. Ross is chief medical officer of Surface Oncology. Read more.

Kristin Ann Kozakowski’03 has joined Hackensack Meridian Children’s Health at K. Hovnanian Children’s Hospital in New Jersey. Read more.

KBL Merger Corp. IV appointed Shoshana Shendelman’05 PhD to its board. Read more.

Julia Iyasere’08 has been chosen to head NewYork-Presbyterian’s new Dalio Center for Health Justice. Read more.

Mountainside Medical Center in Montclair, New Jersey, has named Lori Leslie’09 co-medical director of the hospital’s cancer program. Read more.

Read about James Kearns’10, a urologist who sees patients in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Uzodinma Iweala’11 has joined the Sundance Institute Board of Trustees. Read more.

Read about the professional and personal journey taken by Bryan McColgan’11.

Annegret L. Falkner’12 PhD is one of the 2020 NIH Director’s New Innovator Award recipients. Read more.

Christine M. Constantinople’13 PhD is one of the 2020 NIH Director’s New Innovator Award recipients. Read more.

Read about the work of Dara Holder’13.

Stan Wang’17 has received a Henri Termeer Fellowship for 2020. Read more.


Hobart A. Lerner’43

Edgar Branyon’47

Roger Unger’47

Irving Paul Ackerman’50

Robert Van Hoek’53

Lauren Brinkerhoff’13

Stay connected to VP&S through Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.

Send your news to columbiamedicine@columbia.edu

Note: External links are current at the time of this communication. The Vagelos College of Physicians & Surgeons is not responsible for the content of external websites.