Summer 2021 e-News About and For Alumni

August 23, 2021


The VP&S Class of 2025 is the most diverse class in the school’s history: 28% of the class belong to underrepresented minority groups. Read more about the class, this year’s White Coat Ceremony, and the oath the class wrote for the White Coat Ceremony.

The VP&S Class of 2024 made a welcome video for the incoming class. The video was based on songs from “In the Heights,” a Broadway hit musical that was made into a movie this year. The video introduces the incoming class to their new neighborhood. Read more and see the video.

More than 400 students from Columbia University Irving Medical Center’s four schools volunteered at the Armory vaccination site in Washington Heights. Read about their experiences.



Two scientists whose work on messenger RNA led to COVID-19 vaccines were announced as this year’s recipients of Columbia’s Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize. Katalin Karikó, PhD, and Drew Weissman, MD, PhD, will receive the honor during a January 2022 ceremony. Read more.

The NIH has awarded VP&S one of 10 prizes for enhancing gender diversity. Read more.

During the Summer Olympics, the CUIMC Newsroom recalled four alumni who competed in earlier games: Benjamin Spock’29, Stephen Rerych’75, Jennifer Thompson’06, and Valeria Silva Merea’12. Read more.

NewYork-Presbyterian again ranked among the nation’s top hospitals in the latest hospital rankings by the U.S. News & World Report. Read more.

Columbia health care workers and other essential workers from throughout New York City were honored with a ticker tape parade through the Canyon of Heroes in lower Manhattan. Read more.



Patricia Donahoe’64 received the 2021 Jacobson Innovation Award of the American College of Surgeons during a virtual event held in her honor in June. Read more.

Mary Bassett’79 was quoted in a New York Times story about peer-reviewed journals and their blindness to structural racism. Read more.

Velma Scantlebury’81 was honored with the Delaware History Makers Award. Read more.

Read about Beatriz Olson’84 and Eric Olson’84.

Bethesda Magazine interviewed Thomas Matthew’85, a cardiac surgeon at Johns Hopkins. Read more.

Read a profile of George Yancopoulos’86 PhD/’87 MD.

Craig Granowitz’90 MD/’92 PhD has joined Lexicon Pharmaceuticals as senior vice president and chief medical officer. Read more.

Steven K. Libutti’90 was named by the business journal NJBIZ as a 2021 Healthcare Hero in the health care professional category. Read more.

Stuart Lutzker’90 MD/PhD is a founding member of the scientific advisory board of Ambrx. Read more.

Read about a new book by Madeline Sutton’93.

Cambridge Health Alliance named Siva Vithiananthan’93 as its new chief of surgery. Read more.

Kathryn Quadracci Flores’95 has been appointed president of QuadMed, a provider of employee health and wellness solutions. Read more.

Steven Rosenberg’95 has joined Columbia as director of pediatric ophthalmology and the Anne S. Cohen Endowed Professor of Pediatric Ophthalmology at VP&S. Read more.

Read about the career of Robert Taylor’99.

J Mocco’00 has been named president-elect of the Society of NeuroInterventional Surgery. Read more.

Read about William Mack’01, president of the Society of NeuroInterventional Surgery.

Nickolay V. Kukekov’05 PhD was named president and CEO of KalGene. Read more.

Daniela Lamas’08 wrote an essay for the New York Times titled “What Should Doctors Do When We Experience a Miracle?” Read more.

Summus Global named Mary Mulcare’08 chief medical officer. Read more.

Sisters Ezinne Emeruwa’15 and Ukachi Emeruwa’15 have been reunited as fellows at NewYork-Presbyterian. Read more.

Jyun-You Liou’17 PhD received the 2021 Mitchell Alan Ross Prize. Read more.



James Trimble’47

James Manning’48

Sam Madell’51

William Revercomb Jr.’51

Julie Crocker’53

William Muir’54

Harold Stocker’54

Robert Roth’55

Ralph Richter’56

Norman Ertel’57

Martin Nydick’57

Barry Galton’58

Charles N. Leach’60

Elias Schwartz’60

William Reichel’61

Barry Walker’62

Edward “Ted” Hard Jr.’66

Ernst Heilbrunn’67

Robert M. Johnson’70 PhD

Jeffrey Barnett’71

Trudy Lipowsky’81 PhD


Stay connected to VP&S through Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.

Send your news to

Note: External links are current at the time of this communication. The Vagelos College of Physicians & Surgeons is not responsible for the content of external websites.