Fall 2016 e-News for Alumni

Fall 2016 e-News About and For Alumni


View photos from this year’s White Coat Ceremony for the Class of 2020.

Business Insider spoke with fourth-year P&S student Jenna Reece and a Florida medical student about Hollywood’s depiction of doctors. Read what they said here.

Ceci Davis-Hayes’17 won a bronze medal at the International Triathlon Union World Championships in Mexico in September. She placed in the top 18 for her age division at the national championships last summer to secure a spot on the American team. Read more.

Read about Aury Garcia, a member of the first-year class who is the first Dyckman Scholar to attend P&S. The scholarship from the Dyckman Institute supports Columbia students from the medical center’s neighborhoods of Washington Heights and Inwood.


Columbia University’s medical center campus has a new name. Read more.

Carol Friedman, PhD, professor of biomedical informatics, and Anissa Abi-Dargham, MD, professor emerita of psychiatry, were elected to the National Academy of Medicine, formerly the Institute of Medicine. Read more.

Two P&S faculty members—neurologist Olajide Williams, MD, and psychiatrist Sidney Hankerson, MD—will lead a new community Wellness Center, located in the Jerome L. Greene Science Center on the University’s Manhattanville campus. Read more.

A Columbia psychiatry faculty member, Joshua A. Gordon, MD, PhD, is now director of the National Institute of Mental Health. Read more.


P. Reed Larsen’63 received the 2016 Lewis E. Braverman Lectureship Award from the American Thyroid Association. Read more.

Martin L. Gelman’68, president of Greater Boston Medical Associates, has been recognized by Continental Who’s Who as a Pinnacle Professional in the field of health care. Read more.

In a suburban St. Louis newspaper article, John Bedwinek’71 addressed the controversy behind PSA screening.

Daniel Von Hoff’73 was announced as a 2016 Giant of Cancer Care at the 34th annual Chemotherapy Foundation Symposium. Read more.

Read a profile of Allen Weiss’73 in a Naples, Fla., newspaper.

Mitchell Benson’77 received the Lifetime Medical Achievement Award from the T.J. Martell Foundation for Leukemia, Cancer and AIDS Research at the foundation’s 41st honors gala in October. Read more.

Jane Salmon’78 has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine. Read more.

Columbia’s Mailman School of Public Health awarded its Frank A. Calderone Prize, the most prestigious award in public health, to Mary T. Bassett’79 at an October ceremony. Read more.

James Goodrich’80 led a team that successfully separated a set of conjoined twins at Children’s Hospital at Montefiore. Read more about Dr. Goodrich’s seventh separation surgery.

A Brazilian neurosurgeon traveled to New York for brain surgery performed by his friend, Michael Sisti’81. Read their story.

Scott Breidbart’83 has joined Solera Health, an integrator of chronic disease prevention and management solutions, as chief medical officer. Read more.

Read a Q&A with Maria Oquendo’84 about her role as president of the American Psychiatric Association and her goal of cultivating ethnic diversity in psychiatry.

Kenneth D. Pearsen’85 was named chair of the Department of Radiology at the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University at Buffalo. Read more.

Susan Mandel’86 has been elected president-elect of the Endocrine Society. Read more.

Jo Buyske’87, associate executive director of the American Board of Surgery, was among five graduates of Mountain Lakes High School in New Jersey who were inducted into the school’s second Hall of Fame class. Read more.

Paul Sforza’93 has joined North Shore Eye Care, Long Island’s fast growing comprehensive eye care provider. Read more.

Sean Bidic’96 has joined the Board of Directors of Patriot National, a provider of technology and outsourcing solutions to the insurance industry. Read more.

Kwok-Kin Wong’96 MD/PhD was named chief of hematology and medical oncology at the Perlmutter Cancer Center at NYU Langone Medical Center, effective January 2017. Read more.

Read an article in the Faribault, Minn., newspaper about a book written by Drew Helmer’97, who graduated from high school in Faribault. Read more.

Navarra Rodriguez’97 was appointed president and chief medical officer of AdvantageCare Physicians, one of the largest multispecialty practices in the New York metropolitan area, and officer of the practice’s partner, EmblemHealth. Read more.

Mary T. Killackey’98 made history at the Tulane University School of Medicine as the first woman to chair the Department of Surgery. Read about her appointment.

Patricia Toro’99 has joined Harvard Pilgrim in Wellesley as Massachusetts associate medical director. Read more.

Kathryn Beal’00, a radiation oncologist at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, has been named to the Board of Directors of the New York Philharmonic. Read more.

Southwestern Vermont Medical Center and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Putnam Physicians expanded their orthopedic practice by adding three orthopedists, including Jonathan Cluett’00. Read more.

Mark Vitale’06 received the prestigious Dr. Melville G. Magida Award at the Fairfield County Medical Association’s annual meeting in Connecticut. Read more.

Read an article in which Mark Mahan’07 describes changing to a medical career after living through 9/11.

Stephen A. Klinge’09 has joined the orthopedic surgery staff of Marlborough’s UMass Memorial-Marlborough Hospital. Read more.

Orthopedic hand and shoulder specialist Xavier Simcock’09 has joined Associates in Orthopedics in Massachusetts. Read more.

Matthew Cantlon’10, an orthopedic hand, wrist, and upper extremity specialist, has joined Orthopaedic and Neurosurgery Specialists in Connecticut. Read more.

Brian Stater’11 has joined the Santa Rosa Head & Neck Surgical Group in the Bay Area. Read the announcement.



Time magazine featured Virginia Apgar’33 in an ongoing series about the unsung women of history.

A tribute wall in the Allan Rosenfield Building on the CUMC campus honors the late Allan Rosenfield’59. Read more.



Felix Demartini’46

Melvin Grumbach’48

David Barnhouse’54

Paul Keating’54

Paul Mayer’54

James Rathe’54

David Andrews’56

Mayo Johnson’57

Ruth Triedman’57

James "Jim" Dong Su Kim’62

Stay connected to P&S through Facebook, Twitter, and You Tube.

Send your news to columbiamedicine@columbia.edu

Note: External links are current at the time of this communication. The College of Physicians & Surgeons is not responsible for the content of external websites.