Winter 2013 e-News About and For Alumni

Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons e-News for Alumni

Winter 2013


Colleen Kays, a member of the Class of 2013, was one of 20 individuals who received the American Medical Association Foundation's 2013 Leadership Award, which provides students, residents, fellows, and young physicians with special training to develop skills as leaders in medicine and community affairs. She was honored at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., in February. Read about the award and Ms. Kays here.

The Class of 2015 participated in the Steven Z. Miller Student Clinician's Ceremony in January. David Chapel'15 received the Greg Grove Award for his efforts to promote activities that provide relaxation for busy students. Mohammed Shaik'15 and Matthew Wingo'15 received Karl H. Perzin Excellence in Pathology awards. Alumni who received awards were Jay Lefkowitch'76, who received the Fundamentals Outstanding Teacher Award, and Mauer Biscotti III'10, a surgery resident who received one of six Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards. Delphine Taylor'97delivered remarks from the pre-clinical faculty. Read more about the ceremony and see a video here.

Read about Match Day 2013 and see a video on the P&S news page. Residency match lists are available here.


The LGBT Health Initiative has been created at Columbia University Medical Center to help improve the health and well-being of LBGT individuals. The program is based in the Division of Gender, Sexuality, and Health at the New York State Psychiatric Institute and the P&S Department of Psychiatry in association with Columbia's School of Nursing. Read more.

Also as part of Women's History Month, the Huffington Post produced a slide show that featured 50 women who have had the most impact in medicine and health research. Three Columbians – Virginia Apgar'33 and current faculty members Nancy Wexler and Wafaa El-Sadr – are among the 50.

The latest donation to the Medical and Graduate Education Building on Haven Avenue is from Philip and Cheryl Milstein, who made a $20 million commitment to CUMC's campus revitalization. Read about the gift.


Several alumni have been named inaugural fellows of the American Association for Cancer Research's new academy. They are among the first 106 fellows who will be inducted into the academy at the AACR's annual meeting in Washington, D.C., in April. P&S alumni in the group are Karen H. Antman'74Bayard D. Clarkson'52James F. Holland'47Alfred G. Knudson Jr.'47Robert J. Lefkowitz'66, and Daniel D. Von Hoff'73. Read the official announcement.

T. Berry Brazelton'43 received one of 18 Presidential Citizens Medal given in February at a White House ceremony. The Presidential Citizens Medal, the nation's second-highest civilian honor, recognizes service to country or fellow citizens. Read more and see a videohere.

Research conducted by Stephen Shafer'70 was mentioned in the Utica, N.Y., Observer-Dispatch in January in support of the newspaper's editorial opposing expansion of casinos in the state. Dr. Shafer chairs the Coalition Against Gambling in New York State. Read the editorial here.

Robin Motz'75 writes about calcium supplements in his latest entry on his Medicine: Facts and Fictions blog, where he corrects and explains medical stories in the news. Read his blog here.

A video profile of David P. Roye'75 was created to accompany his 2012 Alumni Medal from Columbia University. Watch the video here.

Peter K. Gregersen'76 has been chosen as one of three scientists to receive the 2013 Crafoord Prize in Polyarthritis from the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in a May ceremony in Stockholm. The award recognizes Dr. Gregersen's work and that of two others (including P&S faculty member Robert Winchester) in contributing to a basic understanding of how the most common and serious form of rheumatoid arthritis develops. Read the announcement.

Ron Cohen'81 was interviewed on CNBC's "Mad Money," where he and host Jim Cramer discussed his company, Acorda Therapeutics, and neurology drugs being studied for multiple uses. See the story and video. Earlier this year, Dr. Cohen authored a piece in Forbes. Read it here.

George M. Hripcsak'85 was named to the Columbia Provost’s Faculty Advisory Committee on Online Learning. Read about the committee's work.

Stephen Canfield'92 is among a consortium of faculty from eight medical schools who will develop educational content for i-Human Patients, a web-based service that simulates a patient visit for medical students. The American Medical Association is sponsoring development of simulated, interactive patient encounters for i-Human Patients. Read more.

Tom Hickernell'12 has begun his fundraising campaign in pursuit of the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society's 2013 Man of the Year title. Tom hopes to raise $100,000 in 10 weeks. Learn more at the Team Tom website.


Alumni, faculty, and student deaths reported in recent months. Click on name to read more.

Helen M. Wallace'37

Harrison Law'38

Jay Tepperman'38

Raymond J. Fitzpatrick'43

Celia White Tabor'43

Robert Stanton Gordon'46

Robert Morse Paine'46

William Bauman'47

Morton C. Creditor'47

Grace G. Herman'49

Caroline Banks Hunter'51

John C. McGiff'51

Arthur Perry Hall'52

John Rosen'61

Robert Rugh McClelland'66

Donald Lester Snider'66

Henry Ascher Sellner'67

George P. Dingeldein Jr.'70

Henry Davison Jr.'87

James "Jimmy" Watts'16

Brian Hoffman 

Check out the latest issue of CUMC Celebrates for news of P&S faculty grants, honors, and news mentions.

Stay connected to P&S through FacebookTwitter, and You Tube.

Send your news to 

Note: External links are current at the time of this communication. The College of Physicians & Surgeons is not responsible for the content of external websites.